Phone: (941) 366-9800
Fax:      (941) 366-2781
1950 Arlington Street, Suite 300 Sarasota, Florida 34239

fb   In   doximity   twitter  


Congress Faculty List 2021

Faculty List for the 21/21/21 Annual Sarasota Cardiology Congress

21 st Annual National Sarasota Congress for

Cardiovascular Disease Prevention and Optimal Treatment Update 2021:

Early Detect to Protect

Hosted by 21 national and internationally renowned Professors of Cardiology

Faculty List :


Program Director

President, ISCVDP

Fellow American Society of Preventive Cardiology

Clinical Professor of Medicine, Universities of Florida and South Florida

Golden Doctor Diploma University of Vienna Austria 2014

Member Board of Trustee American society of Preventive Cardiology [ASPC]

Past Member Board of Trustees Association of Black Cardiologists [ABC]

Medical Director, Cardiovascular Health Assessment Center

President, Cardiovascular Center of Sarasota

Medical Director and Founder SMH Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Center 2007 - 2010

Sarasota, Florida

Jay N. Cohn, MD, FACC, FAHA

Program Co-Director

Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine

Director, Rasmussen Center for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention

University of Minnesota Medical School

President American Society of Hypertension, 1990-1992

President International Society of Hypertension, 1996-1998

President Heart Failure Society of America, 1995-1998

President International Society of Cardiovascular Pharmacotherapy, 2008-2010

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Anthony DeMaria, MD, FACC

Program Co-Director

Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Disease, U.C. San Diego, CA

President American College of Cardiology1989-1990

Editor in Chief of American Journal of Cardiology 2002-2014

San Diego, California

Nanette K. Wenger, MD, MACC, MACP, FAHA

Program Co-Director

Vice President, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine

Professor of Medicine (Emeritus), Cardiology, Emory University School of Medicine

President Society of Geriatric Cardiology1994-1995

AHA Chair, Task Force, Heart Education for Women1990-1999

Past Chief of Cardiology Grady Memorial Hospital

Consultant, Emory Heart & Vascular Center

Atlanta, Georgia

Michelle A. Albert, MD MPH
Professor of Medicine

Admissions Dean

Director, UCSF CeNter for the St U dy of AdveRsiTy and CardiovascUlaR DiseasE (NURTURE Center)

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine (UCSF)

President, Association of Black Cardiologists, Inc

President, Association of University Cardiologists

Matthew Budoff, MD, FACC

Professor of Medicine, UCLA

Endowed Chair of preventive Cardiology

Program Director, Division of Cardiology

Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute

Los Angeles, California

Anne B. Curtis, MD, MACP, FACC, FHRS, FAHA

Board Member International Society for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention (ISCVDP)

Past President Heart Rhythm Society

Past President of the Association of University of Cardiologists

Past President of the Cardiac Electrophysiology Society

SUNY Distinguished Professor

Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and Chair

Department of Medicine

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

University at Buffalo

Buffalo, New York

Keith C. Ferdinand, MD, FACC, FAHA, FASH, FNLA

Board Member International Society for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention (ISCVDP)

Past Chairman Board of Directors Association of Black Cardiologist (ABC)

Professor of Medicine Tulane University

New Orleans, Louisiana

Thomas Kelly, MD, FACS

Secretary/Treasurer, ISCVDP

Cardiovascular Surgeon

Sarasota Memorial Hospital

Sarasota, Florida

Stephan Kopecky, MD, FACC

Asst. Secretary, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Disease Mayo Clinic

Past President, American Society for Preventive Cardiology (ASPC)

Rochester, Minnesota


Associate Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology

Director of Women’s Cardiovascular Health

Associate Director of Preventive Cardiology

Division of Cardiology

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Co-Editor in Chief

The American Journal of Preventive Cardiology

Elizabeth O. Ofili, MD, FACC

Board Member International Society for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention (ISCVDP)

Professor of Medicine (Cardiology), Morehouse School of Medicine

Chairman ABC Board of Trustees

Past President, Association of Black Cardiology

Atlanta, Georgia

Carl J. Pepine, MD, MACC, FAHA, FESC

Professor of Medicine, University of Florida

Chairman Vascular Biology Working Group

Past President American College of Cardiology

Gainesville, Florida

David Perloff, MD, FACC, FACP

Perloff Cardiovascular Care Fort Lauderdale, Florida

President - Florida Chapter American College of Cardiology

Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Marc A. Pohl, MD

Consultant Staff, Department of Nephrology and Hypertension, Cleveland Clinic

Past Head, Section of Clinical Hypertension and Nephrology

Past Director Center for Blood Pressure Disorders

Glickman Urological and Kidney Institute, Cleveland Clinic

Cleveland, Ohio

Jeffrey Sell, MD, FACS

Chief, Cardiovascular Surgery, Sarasota Memorial Healthcare System

Sarasota, Florida

Bola Sogade, MD, FACOG

Forsyth, Georgia

Felix Sogade, MD, FACC, FHRS

Georgia Arrhythmia Consultant Research Institute

Past Chairman of the Board, Association of Black Cardiologists (ABC)

Macon, Georgia

Laurence Sperling, MD, FACC, FAHA

Professor of Medicine (Cardiology)

Past President of the American Society for Preventive Cardiology

Director of Emory Heart Disease Prevention Center

Emory University School of Medicine

Professor of Global Health Hubert Department of Global Health Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University

Atlanta, Georgia

Michael Valentine, MD, MACC

Immediate Past President American College of Cardiology

Stroobants Cardiovascular Center

Lynchburg, Virginia

David Wolinsky, MD, FACC, MASNC

Section Head Nuclear Cardiology

Director Cardiac Amyloid Center

Cleveland Clinic Florida

Past President American Society of Nuclear Cardiology

Weston, Florida

International Faculty:

Gamela Nasr, MD

Board Member, ISCVDP

Professor and Head of Cardiology Department Suez Canal University

General Secretary of Egyptian Society of Cardiology

President of the Working Group of Preventive Cardiology and Cardiac Rehabilitation

Fausto Pinto, MD, FESC

Board Member, ISCVDP

Professor of Medicine, Chief of Cardiology and Dean Medical School Lisbon, Portugal

President World Heart Federation

Past President European Soc. of Cardiology

Lisbon, Portugal

Professor Sir Magdi Yacoub, FRS, FACE

Board Member, ISCVDP

Imperial College London, Heart Science Center

Harefield, Middlesex, United Kingdom